You are here: Home >> Articles & Tutorials >> Kaspersky Internet Security 2009 detects ad.doubleclick.net ads as a Phishing site
By icqgg21 on Jun 20, 2009 |Advertising
Was this helpful?
0
0
Kaspersky Internet Security 2009 detects ad.doubleclick.net ads as a Phishing site
It was a shock for me when i got the popup message from kaspersky Internet Security 2009 stating that “Application Firefox contains link to webpage http://…/ad.doubleclick.net&mtfNoflush=True, used to steal passwords, credit card numbers and other confidential data. Denied”. Site that i was browsing at that time was youtube.com, everything was fine up till the main page of the site. I entered a publisher channel to watch the video and at that time the message popped up immediately. Then i tried watching other videos, than what i noticed that the phishing message was showing only on the publisher channels. The normal videos were coming without any popup warning. I was using mozilla firefox at that time, so i decided to check it with google chrome.
mozilla firefox phishing message for ads.doubleclick.net
mozilla firefox phishing message for ads.doubleclick.net
When i checked it with google chrome the results were the same, message popped up on the publishers channel videos while things were normal for the ordinary video contributor channels.
Google Chrome phishing message for ads.doubleclick.net
Google Chrome phishing message for ads.doubleclick.net
Doubleclick is using some hard DART cookies on the publisher channel to track there performance, and the advertisers needs, but somewhere its forgetting the viewers and their privacy. Kaspersky detailed report screen short is attached.
Kaspersky Internet Security 2009 details on ads.doubleclick.net phishing activity
Kaspersky Internet Security 2009 details on ads.doubleclick.net phishing activity
6/8/2009 5:15:12 PM http://ad.doubleclick.net/879366/DartShell7_7.swf?adServerHost=http://ad.doubleclick.net&mtfNoFlush=true Firefox Denied Phishing site ad.doubleclick.net/click;h?v8/3845/0/0/*/c;215272976;0-0;1;17564804;28036-560/228;31627784/31645660/1;;~sscs?http://eatps.web.aol.com/open_web_adhoc?subtype?2811&distset?3au0509p0cmct3&click?http://nospam.ath.cx/index2.html High Exact Databases
-Text from the above sereenshot
On investigating i have founded that this warning is a common warning that is popped up on the screen of the visitors by there antiviruses for the past 2 months ever since google has decided to move for interest based advertising. Cookies has been a issue with google from a long time, history has its record. Hope it fixes it soon.
Was this helpful?
0
0
You're reading Kaspersky Internet Security 2009 detects ad.doubleclick.net ads as a Phishing site.
Hot Topics People Are Chatting
My Questions & Articles